The Awkward Moment When China Doesn’t Translate Your Poster

About 12 months ago I posted a spoof poster advertising/mocking the iPhone 5 (original post here)

Image

 

I actually liked the art direction of the poster, using the apple logo within the number 5 is a neat touch I feel. I went with the slightly sarcastic (yet somewhat true) strapline of “Because you have more money than sense” – my little dig at apple fanboys who just can’t help but snap up the latest apple goodies.

Overall I was happy with the design, it was a bit of a laugh and I re-shared it earlier this month when the phone was actually released. I thought that would be it, just another portfolio piece done.

So Imagine my surprise when my friend texts me to say that Sabotage Times had posted a photo to their Facebook account showing an apple retailer in China that was proudly displaying my poster in their shop window:

Image

 

Hilarious.

I have no idea where or when the photo was taken – I’d love to find out though.

Obviously my sarcasm doesn’t translate well in the far east.

4 Responses to “The Awkward Moment When China Doesn’t Translate Your Poster”


  1. 1 Lewis Cooper October 20, 2012 at 03:06

    I am literally crying with laughter

  2. 2 koca1111 November 22, 2012 at 09:58

    Respected friend

    JESUS ​​taught us SECRET TEARS
    Today’s Gospel tells us that Jesus wept over Jerusalem, which over Jerusalem because of his stubbornness in sin, could not save him from destruction. Moaning was offered to God a sacrifice for the sins of the inhabitants of the city, but in vain, for they were worthy to receive redemption. Each time, when he proclaimed the great secret disciples of God, the salvation of souls would be shaken. Blessed is the soul that can p ..
    elbow, he is not far away from God.’s not far from my salvation.
    The world mocks accidentally tears. Evil-spirits want to destroy the source of grace in the heart and make us callous before God, before others and even before him. He wants to separate us from everything in us that salvation, of humility, of faith, of candor …… women of Jerusalem Jesus did not say do not weep, but weep … gave the salvific meaning of tears. According to them, avoiding the horrors of the past, which he teaches. So in the Holy Sacrament of Reconciliation, the holy confession condition for absolution deeply remorseful soul. At the end of the confession the priest says:

  3. 3 jingliu November 22, 2012 at 15:50

    Haha, I wonder if their customers know what it means.

  4. 4 Alexei January 22, 2013 at 20:35

    Can you share a PSD file?

    thanks, nice catch…


What do you think?

If you wish to use any of my images PLEASE contact me or at least credit this blog.
(Even though no one EVER does)

Mikie on Twitter

Mikie on Instagram

The sky is on fire. What thunderstorms? Today's lazy day sandwich. #pulledpork Friday team lunch. #friday #pizza #pizzafridays #pizzagram #selfie Love the birthday present from @waytoblueglobal. #tea #birthday

Blog Hits:

  • 101,222 ...and counting

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. They're all original designs, why wouldn't you?


